PDA

View Full Version : advice on honey supers



edcisco
Jul 6th 2009, 11:51 AM
I added honey supers with undrawn foundation two weeks ago this past weekend.to two hives. These are new hives started in April. Both already had 8 to 9 frames filled out in the top medium super before I added these. I had been feeding both hives sugar water, but stopped when I added the supers. This weekend, I went in and one hive had filled 3 frames with honey. Between two of the frames they had connected the comb so that some of the cells were perpendicular to the way cells normally are but were full of honey. The frame spacing was correct, so I cut those apart and put the frames back. Is that what you are supposed to do?
On the second hive, the bees had not touched the foundation--had not drawn out a single cell of wax. Should I take that super off or just wait another week or so and check again?

tecumseh
Jul 7th 2009, 05:19 AM
I have one question... in regards to the honey supers added where connective comb was noticed between the frames did you begin these (place these on the hive) with the appropriate number of frames per box (ie 10 frames in a 10 frame box, or 8 in an 8 frame box)?

if you though you still had a nectar flow in progress I would leave the extra box (just in case).

beewildered
Jul 7th 2009, 11:30 PM
Sounds to me like a spacing problem, double check your spacing between frames. About 3/8 of an inch from surface to surface or 1 3/8 center to center is a good start. Have a read over at Michael Bush's site on frame spacing:

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesframewidth.htm

On your second hive, how do the numbers look? Do the bees cover all 8 frames or is it just drawn out? Sounds like it may be a lighter hive and not ready for the space. Like tec say's above, if the flow is on keep it and check it in a week.

edcisco
Jul 8th 2009, 12:01 PM
I have 10 frames in the super(Pierco) and they are pushed together. So, I thought the spacing was correct. On the second hive, the frames were all drawn out and bees covered most of them, but that was two weeks ago. I didn't go into that box. I will check more closely this weekend. thanks for the advice.

G3farms
Jul 11th 2009, 11:46 AM
Sounds like just some burr comb, cut it off and eat it. They will most likely build it back. Seems to me once they get something started it is hard to get them to change, craeture of habit I guess.

G3

barry42001
Jul 12th 2009, 12:03 PM
burr or brace comb isn't a problem unless extensive more annoying then anything else, minor brace or burr comb perhaps a bit to far spaced apart, I more often then not see that in honey supers where I am spacing for deeper comb for easier uncapping in brood chambers never. only extremely minor comb between top bars and bottom bars of upper chamber.
Barry

edcisco
Jul 13th 2009, 02:37 PM
I went in both hives again Saturday. The one that had the odd burr comb between frames has about 6 or 7 frames filled with honey and capped. They have about stopped the burr comb between frames. The hive next to it, they still have not started drawing out the wax foundation in the honey super. There is some burr comb on the bottom of the frames in the honey super, but that's it. The frames in the medium super under the honey super are covered with bees and they are still working, but just not moving into the honey super yet. I am not sure what kind of flow they are in, if anything, but the first hive next to this one went from 3 frames of honey to 6 or 7 in a week so those bees are getting it from somewhere. If my first hive increases anymore like from 6 or 7 to 8 or 9, should I think about taking the super off the hive that they are not working in and putting it on the busy one? Or is it too late in the season to be doing anything more? thanks for the advice.

G3farms
Jul 13th 2009, 03:21 PM
how many frames in the medium are full of honey? if it is not capped over or cells pulled all the way out they will not move up.

bees are funny that way, some go wide open and others lag behind. I have a five frame nuc that just will not do anything.

G3

barry42001
Jul 18th 2009, 08:33 AM
I use deep supers, keeps things simple for me, if I need to draw bees up in to a super, will take a few frames of sealed brood, and move them into the super, replacing them with foundation, accomplishes 2 things, 1. creates space for the queen to lay in as they start to draw out the foundation, new bees won't be creating congestion in brood chamber and are where they need to be to start drawing out the super foundation, and attract field bees up into that super. Know you can't do that full depth and medium supers and all that, just something else to think about( at 6'3" and 205 lifting the full depth supers not a issue for me. )

Iddee
Jul 19th 2009, 10:15 AM
>>>>( at 6'3" and 205 lifting the full depth supers not a issue for me. )<<<<

Ever think these two quotes may be related??? :roll:

>>>>herniated disc makes life a bit miserable at times<<<<

barry42001
Jul 19th 2009, 10:35 AM
Yeah I have a herniated disc, and while related, until I get that issue secured, I will still use deep super, and yeah I know at the end of the day, my back will surely make life a bit miserable. But knowing that no matter WHAT I do, will make absolutely no difference I will have to make due with the pain associated with my condition. I won't change a darn thing, I refuse to cater to pain. Standardization of equipment as stated previously, is my goal, I see no reason to change, and my back will do as I demand even if it hurts. * collectively your probably lifting more weight with 3 medium supers then one deep super ;) .
Barry