PDA

View Full Version : Duragilt

rast
Nov 22nd 2009, 03:19 PM
Anyone using this? Sounds good that I wouldn't have to crosswire for extraction. I've always used hooked wax and crosswired.

Iddee
Nov 22nd 2009, 03:23 PM
If they won't draw it out, you won't have trouble extracting..... It will never see the extractor.

G3farms
Nov 22nd 2009, 05:28 PM
I am a wax man myself, never have used plastic. Never have seen it in a bee tree either ;)

G3

Walt B
Nov 22nd 2009, 06:43 PM
It's what I have. The girls don't seem to have a problem with it, but I have no point of comparison since this is my first year. Started with 2 packages in April, my share of the honey ended up being around 5 gallons. Don't know what it would have been with wax.

Then again, we had no rain most of the summer until September. I think the rain was the reason for the fall harvest.

One thing that I did was to thoroughly spray each side of the plastic foundation with 1:1 syrup before giving it to the girls.

Walt

Iddee
Nov 22nd 2009, 07:24 PM
Walt, the OP isn't talking about plastic foundation. He's talking about Duragilt. It's a thin sheet of plastic with wax foundation on each side. Once the bees chew the wax off the plastic, they will NEVER draw it out.

tecumseh
Nov 23rd 2009, 05:14 AM
rast... I think???? the essesnce of iddee message is... if you place duraguilt in a hive prior to a flow and get it all nicely drawn out it is not a problem. if on the other had you try to place duraguilt in a hive at a time when it is somewhat to highly unlikely to get pulled then quite typically 'the girls' will scavange the wax and what remails is a clean bit of plastic with almost no possibility that it will be pulled into anything that looks like a regular usable frame EVER.