PDA

View Full Version : dandelions

BjornBee
Dec 5th 2009, 06:33 AM
I've always wanted to make hot bacon dressing dandelion salad.

Now I see that johneyseed catalog had dandelion seeds for sale, mentioning their use in salads, etc. So my question is....are all dandelions plants the same? Is the stuff growing in the backyard the same as others grow, harvest and eat?

Any dandelion salad people out there? Any good recipes?

Thank you.

Hobie
Dec 5th 2009, 07:54 AM
I'm no expert, but I think all dandelion species are edible. (Please do research before using this as gospel!) The trick is to get the leaves before the plant has flowered for the best taste.

I have harvested backyard dandelion roots for medicinal teas. I must admit it tasted God-awful, and I probably did something wrong, but I'm still here to tell about it! :)

I have to laugh at someone actually selling dandelion seeds for money. More power to them.

Mama Beek
Dec 5th 2009, 06:39 PM
I think dandelion like lots of other things are a little different in different areas. Back in Missouri they were sweeter and the stems were different. Here they are stronger tasting, the flowers even have a bit of a slightly bitter taste to them and the greens are definitely stronger tasting. I haven't seen any varieties of dandelion yet that weren't edible but that ain't saying alot.

The tea is much easier to take if you make it carefully. I just take a quart canning jar, use about a half cup of fresh leaves (half as much if they are dried) and cover with boiling water. Put the lid on and let it stand overnight. The next morning strain out the leaves and drink.... I prefer it with chamomile and/or peppermint and HONEY.