PDA

View Full Version : All signs point to robbers...

dominica
Jun 29th 2010, 10:18 AM
so i think i've figured out why my bees are flying around like crazy...this is my first year so i think i made a big mistake and i'm hoping you guys can give me some advice on how to cure it

i have been using an entrance feeder since installing the hive on May 25. The bees eat the sugar water like crazy and i replace it once or twice a day

this morning, out in the back yard when i let the dog out, i noticed a HUGE amount of bees flying around like crazy, far away from the hive and just seeming to circle and go back...also, a large number near the entrance flying and buzzing erratically....first time i've seen this

well, the entrance feeder hasn't fit into the entrance for about 2 weeks due to comb being built down towards the bottom. i tried to shove it in there, but didn't want to damage the comb or upset the bees too much. so i have been leaving the feeder just in front of the hive, on the cinder blocks that it rests on. and from what i'm reading, it sounds like this flying and behavior indicates something is robbing the hive???

so my next questions---how do i TELL if the hive is being robbed, and what is your best advice for stopping what is taking place and returning the hive to a habitable place for my bees? undoubtedly the chaos that's going on in the backyard is going to piss off my neighbors and can only lead to trouble, but no way i would have approached the hive this morning as it was just pure chaos in the back.

help!!!!!!!!!!!

riverrat
Jun 29th 2010, 11:00 AM
best way to identify robbing is dead bees and fighting amongst the bees. I would take the feeder and move it 100 foot or so away from the hive. to keep the robbing bees away from the hive

brooksbeefarm
Jun 29th 2010, 12:54 PM