A Good Mentor?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Bsweet, Mar 27, 2011.

1. Bsweet

Bsweet Member

Are we being a good mentor to the people who come for our help with bees?Or do we tell them my way is the best and only instructe them in one way of doing it.I see this in some of the newbee post we get here and it makes me wonder.We see questions like one deep or two ,deeps or medeums or if trapouts don't work why do them,Langs or TBH, wax or plastic? I know that for the most part on this forum we try to cover most of the bases but do we do that on the street or in the field as it were. ? Don't see it much on this forum but there can be some real heated disscuctions on something as simple as rotating hive bodies. Your opinions please. Jim

2. charmd2

charmd2 New Member

If I am giving advice I really try to show at least two view points of view. I know I am still learning daily and I attempt to share all the combined information I have received.

But sometimes it looks like we get new keeps who come in (not necessarily this site but I am pretty sure I saw this exact question somewhere this year) and say hey I ordered a queen. How long will it take her to lay enough eggs for me to get honey. Then I really tend to loose patience and simply recommend a dummies or idiots book.

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

I'm sure we are all guilty of that at times, but I try to say in most of my answers if it is opinion or fact.

Queen excluders and foundation, or no foundation, are two of the most controversial. Deeps or all medium boxes is another one.

4. charmd2

charmd2 New Member

Yeah and those are the ones I have no controversy on at all. I have plastic and wax and foundationless intermingled in hives. I have deep brood chambers and medium chambers. No 8 frame stuff yet but if I find some cheap enough I will have them too.