Another Mead Thread

Discussion in 'Products of the Hive' started by Bens-Bees, Mar 16, 2013.

1. Bens-Bees

Bens-Bees New Member

This year I've decided to make a 5 gallon carboy of mead. I have watched lots of mead making videos and done a bit of light reading on the subject so I have some basic understanding of the process. The thing is that every video or tutorial I've read says to add something to it besides just the honey, water and brewers yeast, such as oranges, or raisins. But I don't want to add anything to it other than honey, water and yeast.

So my question is this:

Is it really that important to add other ingredients for the fermintation process or is it really just for flavor?

2. buckethat

buckethat New Member

I am no pro at making mead but the one batch i made i didnt add anything to the fermentation process. But when i was done i added something to kill the yeast so it wouldnt blow up in the bottle. That worked for me and it turned out great

3. LunacyMountain

LunacyMountain New Member

Mead can be made with straight Honey, the other ingredients are used because most people enjoy wine more than honey Mead so its more common to find those recipes

check out this recipe
    http://www.stormthecastle.com/mead/brew-1-gallon-of-honey-wine-mead.htm

here's a bunch more knowledge on the subject of making mead
    http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=27&Itemid=14

if you've never made mead before I'd advise making a few 1 gallon jugs before you go for the big 5 gallon carboy just in case something goes wrong you won't be out all the honey it takes to make 5 gallons of mead

4. flyweed

flyweed New Member