Any other TBH users on here?

Discussion in 'Top Bar & other Alternative Hives' started by mailahn, Feb 22, 2015.

1. mailahn

mailahn New Member

Hey everybody, just wondering if anybody on this forum uses TBH's? The last post is 2013...... I am a newbie this year, just ordered my bees two days ago!

2. kebee

kebee Active Member

Welcome mailahn to the forum, you need to let us know where you live so that we can better answer you about your hive and there could be some one close that could give even better advise. There are a few on here that have TBH hives so maybe they can help you.

​Ken

3. mailahn

mailahn New Member

Hey ken! Thanks for the reply! I live in northeast wisconsin, about 30 miles from Green Bay. GO PACK. I have been reading books and forums and bee websites like crazy trying to soak in as much info as I can. Also talking to a couple local guys, but haven't found anybody close yet that does top bar. Thanks again.

Seth

4. beezykeeper

beezykeeper New Member

Mailahn,

This is our first year beekeeping and we build Warré style top bar hives. Just wanted to let you know your not alone. How have your hives been doing? What kind of top bar hives are you going with?

5. BeepsBees

BeepsBees Member

I'm a top bar hive beekeeper ! (Newbie) :)

6. Beelinda

Beelinda New Member

Warre Hive newbee here in SW Oregon. Started with hygienic survivor stock. Doing lots of reading and following blogs. Happy to learn and share. Package was installed 10 days ago and weather has been anywhere from 40 to 80 degrees. Bees seem happy and busily making comb. Yesterday found 5 combs almost complete in top box. Didn't see queen but hopefully she will be laying soo.

7. BeepsBees

BeepsBees Member

Survivor stock here too. Non treated & I don't plan on treating them :)

8. camero7

camero7 Member