Anyone Inner Feeder with comb built...Need to help new-bee

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Bees In Miami, Apr 30, 2013.

1. Bees In Miami

Bees In Miami New Member

We set my mother who lives in New England up with two hives for her Birthday. She installed her packages this past Saturday, and added inner top feeders. This is the type of top feeder that has floats inside the box, that rise and fall based on the depth of the syrup. (I have ZERO experience with inner feeders, as well as packages since all my hives have all been swarm catches and cut outs). So, sorry for the dumb question, but I want to make sure I am giving her proper advice....

She opened the inner cover this morning before she had to leave for work to add more syrup. She discovered they have built comb on the wall of the top feeder, and it is of course covered with bees. (she couldn't figure out what the "black thing" was on the side of the feeder for a while...lol...but it was also only 6am). It is about a 4" diameter of comb in the feeder they are working. She is going into her hives tomorrow to make sure the Queens have been released. I advised her to remove the feeder, take a long, thin knife, cut off the comb in one motion, shake off the bees into the box, and set aside. Pull the frame with the queen (hopefully empty) cage, remove the cage, and slide the cut comb into the same rubber band she used to hold the cage in place. Replace frame, and close the hive back up. Make sense?

So my more dumb questions...
    What is the chance that the comb in the feeder is the only comb drawn? Install was Saturday.
    Should we expect to find comb in the hive box as well?
    If the comb in the feeder is the only comb, than that inevitably means she will be dealing with her queen, too.
    Is there a way to discourage them from repeating this comb in the feeder, other than a laying queen in the bottom...

I feel terrible she has been put into a cut out situation this early in her experience...