Avoiding power outage on the Farm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brooksbeefarm, Feb 23, 2013.

1. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

As i posted on another thread that we are in the process of putting in a generator larg enough to run our home and farm buildings.I found out about this talking to a customer at the farmers market where i sell produce and honey, he has one and said they've had several power outages in there area, but didn't know anything about it unless there neighbor said something about it. That got my attention, so here goes. A bee club member came to my house to by honey and her and her husban are electricians, i ask her about this type of generator and she said they have installed several,and told me that a 200 amp generator would do what i wanted and that the one they liked was from Home Depot (Generac), but Lowes had a good one also.Now i'm new at this also,but i'll tell you what i found out, and it's not cheap, but i think will pay off in the long run.I think i'll have under $7,000.00 dollars total in it,it runs off propane gas,and a 525 (amps) cold cranking battery,after the generator is installed it will automatically come on once a week and run for 10 min. to keep battery charged:thumbsup:. If your power goes off there will be a 10 second delay and the generator will kick on.The utility co. came out and approved it and drove a ground rod, i ask about the danger of back feed and was told the unit had safety measures built in it fore that.Thats all i know for now, the ice is about all melted off so i'm looking for the gas co. and electrician this coming Monday, but they have rain or snow in the forcast for Monday:???:.Greg,or any of you,if you need to know more, ask and i'll find out for you, it might be something i need to know also. Jack

2. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member