Bees at an Estate Auction

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Ozark Lady, May 2, 2010.

1. Ozark Lady

Ozark Lady New Member

My husband is always watching the paper for Estate Auctions, often you can find great buys there.

Now, that he is aware that I want bees he is watching for anything along this line.

We went to one that advertised a bee hive, it was a broken up mess of a super with barely a roof on it, no frames, hadn't been used in many, many years, was rotting actually. It brought $20.00. I didn't bid on it.

Well, this time the ad says a colony of bees is to be offered. We will go and check it out, but I suspect folks won't have a clue of the true value and will overbid.

#1. Are the bees healthy, I have no clue, I am a newbie.
    #2. Why is it selling? Was their a death and therefore it just isn't wanted anymore?
    #3. What condition is it in? I am not going to try to open it, without gear, and in a crowd and with all the microphones and all going.
    #4. This is truly buying a "pig in a poke".

Should a newbie even consider such a colony of bees?

Given all the unknowns what would a colony of bees, say the hive is in good repair, be worth?

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

The same amount you would be willing to put in a slot machine and hope for a payout.Buy a new hive body with frames, lid, foundation and bottom board. Get some protective gear.

Then do what this guy did.

http://greensboro.craigslist.org/grd/1719890217.html

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Then, if you really want to get into it, buy a few more hives and put your name and info here. I get several calls a year here.

http://www.ebeehoney.com/swarmremovalmap.html

We also have a "find a beekeeper" forum here on the forum, so list your info there, too.

4. Ozark Lady

Ozark Lady New Member

Many years ago, I bought alot of beekeeping equipment, an odd assortment of new stuff at an auction, but never used it.