Bees in winter?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by wltwine, Oct 15, 2009.

1. wltwine

wltwine New Member

Hello fellow beekeepers, this is my first year beekeeping, and I was wondering if and when I should start feeding my bees, they have two deep supers that are filled out, but I am not sure when to start feeding and what type of feeder to use. I live on the east coast, on the VA and NC border, winters are fairly mild. Also what about entrance reducers and or mouse guards to use or not to use. any advice would be helpful.
    :confused:

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Welcome from another tarheel.

Mouse guards and entrance reducers should be on now. As for feeding, you need to determine how much they have stored. 50 lbs. is a median amount to get them through the winter. If there is enough honey in the two deeps to fully fill one of them, no feeding is needed. An empty two deep hive will weigh approx. 50 lb., so your hive needs to weigh 100 lb. or more to be safe for the winter.

If feed is needed, I would use internal feeders, not the boardman entrance feeders, and do it asap.

They should also be checked for stores in Feb. and fed at that time if needed.

3. wltwine

wltwine New Member

Thanks for the info, both supers are fully drawn out. But I need to add mouse guard/entrance ruducer. again thanks for your help. :wave:

4. Charles

Charles New Member

Iddee covered it, welcome to the forum! :hi:

5. Smallah64

Smallah64 New Member

Guys,
    Can I aks another question? I have a honey super on top of two of my hives with two deeps that is filled with honey, and a feeder on top of that. Should I remove the feeder and the honey or will they use the honey that far up in the winter? Is there a better feedin method now that we've had this crazy snow storm yesterday. I think I'll wrap the hives in paper as well this year.

6. Iddee

Iddee New Member