Black locust

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by PeeVee, Jan 27, 2012.

1. PeeVee

PeeVee New Member

Last year on Memorial weekend I noticed a tremendous blossoming of Black Locust about 15 miles away. Maybe it was because of the weather we had earlier I don't know. I also don't remember seeing such a bloom there before. So fragrant it was noticeable from the 4 lane as I drove past. That went on for a few days.

Unfortunately I was not prepared to move a hive to that location. This coming year I hope to get a couple hives moved in the second week of May just in case that happens again.

Question is, what are the chances of having such a productive bloom two years in a row? I have heard locust is fickle that way.

And, would the time frame of two weeks in advance of a possible bloom around the same time work?

Just wondering as I've never done such a move before. (Oh, yeah, also depends on bees surviving till then.)

2. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

First off you would want to really check and make certain that any specific species of plant produces nectar that the bee can get too. a flower does not automatically = some honey crop. sometimes plants just don't produce significant nectar and sometimes the bees tongue is just too short to get the job done. I seem to recall someone suggesting that one of the locust varieties produces no nectar????

everywhere I have lived black locust is fairly rare since it is highly prized as fence building material but blooms almost every year.

3. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member