Buckfast queens

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Tyro, Feb 16, 2012.

1. Tyro

Tyro Member

Does anyone have any recent experiences with buckfast queens?

Most information that I have found has been a bit dated (2007 or earlier). Info from that time warns to stay away - that they get mean and are tough to work.

I am making up some nucs this spring and need a few queens. I am tempted to try buckfast (b/c some of their advertised traits seem like they would work well in my area), but am wondering if the old info is still accurate or if breeders have taken steps to mitigate some of the problems (particularly with the F1 and F2 queens).

Thanks
    Mike

2. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

I have been running Buckfast and Belgian Buckfast for the past 3 years. Buckfast out of Texas are reported to be defensive. I think they might have Africanized bees in Texas fathering that stock occasionally. Texan Buckfast are darker than Buckfast that came through Canada. My Buckfast are so gentle we use them in the teaching hives without incident. They have survived treatment free better than any of the other lines I have been able to obtain.

3. Tyro

Tyro Member

Gary,

Can you say where you get your queens?

Thanks
    Mike

4. Americasbeekeeper

Miksa Honey Farms, 13404 Honeycomb Rd, Groveland, FL 34736, (352) 429-3447, Miksahf@aol.com They have the perfect bee job out with the bees so leave a voice mail.

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

Miksa also sell queen cells shipped to your door. the shipping charges likely makes this service uneconomic for small orders.

a tyro snip...
    particularly with the F1 and F2 queens

tecumseh: