Buckwheat?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by tecumseh, Aug 19, 2010.

1. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

No I am not looking for the character from 'Our Gang' but the crop that produces buckwheat honey and buckwheat flour.

I am interested in information from anyone who has grown or though of cultivating buckwheat. I have the following three question (but don't let that slow ya' down brother answer some I haven't asked).

1) what season do you plant buckwheat and how long does it take for the flowers to set?
    2) what is the seeding rate/acre?
    3) where do you acquire seeds?

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

And do deer and other animals eat it?

3. Hobie

Hobie New Member

I'm no expert, as I only planted a tiny patch last year. It is my understanding that buckwheat grows quickly, and you can plant early or late to get a crop, or double it up with another crop. From what I have read, it takes about 3 weeks to flower, and about 2 months to mature. The details all depend on your growing season and the conditions.

As for seed, you can buy on-line for an outrageous cost, or hopefully you can get it at your local grain supply/ feed mill for closer to 60 cents/lb.

I never had anything eat my little patch, and it was away from the house, behind the barn. Lots of critters walked through it, though. The soil there was bad... dry, rocky, well-established field grass, and packed down by vehicles... and the patch did okay, but not really well. I must have timed it badly, though, because I never saw a honeybee in it.

4. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member