Building an uncapping vat

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Max, Jun 27, 2012.

1. Max

Max New Member

I'm a welder working in a general fabrication business with access to several different types of metal. I want to build an uncapping vat on my own. Does anyone have plans for making one? I'm considering using stainless steel, but there are many different designations of stainless. Are all ok to use for food grade purposes? What about aluminum? Can I make an uncapping vat out of aluminum?

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

I don't know about aluminum, but food grade stainless is referred to as 304 if I remember correctly. Are you talking about an uncapping tray/tank?
    Sent you a pm Max.

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Look at several of the bee supply catalogs to get some good ideas, most of them even give a few dimensions.

4. pturley

pturley New Member

Most any 300 series stainless steel are good to use and are food-grade (302, 304, 316L). If you are going to form these (bending etc.) please note that they all work-harden very readily. Get your bends in on one quick motion because you likely aren't going to bend it back!
    For welding, you will need 300 series MiG wire and tri-mix or your welds will rust readily. I believe you still just use Argon for TiG, but with matching alloy feed wire.

400 series stainless steels are so called "surgical stainless" is often used for scapels or cutlery (440C or 420C) are very common. The "C" is designating carbon for hardness.

Most do not work harden as fast as the 300 series alloys, most accept heat-treatment for hardness. Some of these will corrode, but typically only a bloom. These may still be usable for your tank.

437SS has great corrosion resistance, but it's hard as all get out (needs a plasma cutter to cut it... I broke more than one bi-metallic bandsaw blade trying!) I don't think it bends all that well either so you'd be welding all seams. Tri-mix is needed for MiG welding as well...