Capturing bees for new hive

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by dejswa, Aug 16, 2010.

1. dejswa

dejswa New Member

I'm new to beekeeping so I don't know if this makes any sense at all but here is my question.

I have a new hive in Dallas and have been using an external feeder since we have had many days above 100 degrees and a draught as well. I started off with a quart or so of sugar water and was refilling several times per day. I eventually went to a chicken water dispenser (2.5 gal) with a towel in the trough and they even managed to empty that twice in one day. (That is 17 # of sugar!) So now I take a closer look at my hive and figure that I must be feeding every bee within a few square miles as well as my hive since after almost 100# of sugar, the hive does not weigh much more than it did a few weeks ago and comb / brood production is not up by much.

During the day on the towel on the feeder, it is thick with bees (like maybe 10,000) or at least as many as you get when you order a few # of bees in the mail.

So my thought is whether or not one might capture these bees, order a new queen and start a new hive an how to do it.

Is this something that is feasable? Could it bee done with a bee vac and then just hive them with a new queen?

I'll post some photos soon re the feeder and the swarms of bees.

2. riverrat

riverrat New Member

You wont have much luck doing this. It would be a lot easier to put a top feeder on the hive and quite feeding the neighborhood dinner. If you want additional hives do a split or buy a nuc it would be much easier. Remember the bees you are capturing are older bees out foraging the young nurse bees are back at the hive. Most your bees you capture would die off before the first round of brood hatches

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member