Checking the hive

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by tommyssally, Feb 6, 2013.

1. tommyssally

tommyssally New Member

I am new to this. There are a lot of dead bees outside my hives. I live in Maryland and the weather has been very up and down, warm and cold. Can I take a peek inside the hives when it is only 35 degrees F?? I want to make sure they are still alive.
    Thanks!

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

I wouldn't unless it's an absolute emergency. Put your ear right up against the side of the hive and if they're alive, you'll hear them. Lots of dead bees around a hive at this time of year is not all that unusual.

3. riverbee

riverbee Active Member

what perry said tommysally. don't open that lid....if you are using double deeps, (or whatever set up) the bees should be clustered near the top now. listen for them. let us know! :grin:

4. Tia

Tia New Member

Put your ear on the box. If it's too cold it may be difficult to hear them, so rap on the box once. They should produce a startled hum that will not only tell you they're there, but which box they're in.

5. Omie

Omie Active Member

I sometimes will forcefully blow a warm breath into the upper entrance, and that often brings one or two guards bees to peek out at me after a minute. Be careful when doing this, however- get ready to retreat fast if they get annoyed!

6. ApisBees

ApisBees Active Member

Once you determine that they are still alive. Heft test, If the hive is light, feeding will be 1st priority.

7. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Opening the hive breaks the "winter sealing" that the bees have made with propolis. It then becomes a lot more difficult for the bees to maintain their warmth, especially in windy conditions. They might be able to do it, but it will be at the expense of "burning" more honey reserves for warmth.
    BTW, glad to see you back and posting as the spring season starts to wake up. Hope you have a successful season.

8. riverbee

riverbee Active Member