concerned about pesticides

Discussion in 'General Gardening' started by knuckledragger, Jun 11, 2011.

1. knuckledragger

knuckledragger New Member

I am new to beekeeping (will be getting my first 2 hives next week) and my wife gardens. She normally uses sevin on the garden, but I understand that it is harmful to bees. Are there other things that we can use to protect our squash and zucchini without hurting the bees?

2. Omie

Omie New Member

I'm sure others will have their own suggestions and views, but my take is this- if you want to start raising your own wholesome food and keeping bees and eating your own honey, you might want to investigate other ways rather than spraying poisons and insect killers on the vegetables you are going to eat- it can not only poison your bees, but frankly speaking if you want to eat vegetables that have been sprayed with pesticides and fungicides etc, then it's much cheaper to get them at the supermarket.
    There are various less harmful ways to reduce insect damage in the home garden- diatomous earth, simple diluted soap or hot pepper spray, ladybugs, preying mantids, companion planting, even hand picking of tomato worms. I don't use anything in my veg garden other than my rabbit/deer fence, and I only get the occasional bug damage- I think it's because I use plenty of organic fertilizer and the plants are thriving and strong. I have a theory where insects move in when there is a weakness or deficiency, like how woodpeckers start working on a tree that looks ok, but is actually dying and riddled with insects on the inside. I used to have lots more bug damage in my veg garden when i was using chemical fertilizers like MiracleGro. Since I switched to only organic fertilizers and manure, each year I have fewer and fewer bugs going after my veggies. This is of course just my own biased opinion, humbly offered. Here's some pix from my vegetable garden:
    http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_9fPBEJTqGzw/T ... 2010_1.jpg