Custom built Dadant type frames.

Discussion in 'Building plans, blueprints, and finished projects' started by djdhays, Jan 26, 2012.

1. djdhays

djdhays New Member

I am new to beekeeping. I've always wanted to do it and finally decided last summer to get started. I decided I'd use the time between then and spring to research and build all I could so when spring came I'd have plenty of hives to fill and be an expert beekeeper. The woodwork is coming along well but the expert part seems just like college. It seems the more I know the more I know how much I don't know. On to the point.

I purchased some used equipment from the widow of a club member who had unfortunately passed before I joined the club. Most of the supers had spacers in them and the lady explained that those were to use 9 frames in a 10 frame super. She explained that the bees would build the comb out further if you do that. So now I have two questions.

What is the advantage/disadvantage of doing this? If I do decide that the fact that I enjoy working with wood is enough to prompt me to build my own frames (the cost savings certainly wouldn't do it) can I just make the sides of the frames a little wider to eliminate the need for spacers?

2. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

The way it was explained to me, you only want to use 9 frames when comb has already been drawn out. If your starting with foundation, use 10 frames. 2d year, in other words. Also, this is for honey supers, not brood boxes.

3. Zulu

Zulu Member

If the bees have drawn out the comb, then you can reduce to 9 frames, but if new frames with foundation or starter strips, it is better to start with 10 frames in a deep or super ( brood box or honey super) So they keep it straight. Read up about bee space, approx 3/8", if you allow more space than needed they will fill it with comb or propolis.

The idea of 9 frames - allows more honey to be stored in fewer frames, thus less work extracting it.

4. Iddee

Iddee New Member