Cut out from hell

Discussion in 'Swarms, Cut outs, and Trap outs' started by cstephen, Sep 21, 2010.

1. cstephen

cstephen New Member

I run a small organic farming operation selling vegetables at grower’s markets and try to keep a few top bar hives mostly for my own interest and because I really like them and I’m a fresh honey addict. I'm fairly new at this and have only been doing it for a couple of years. The first year I got a hive from a friend and it was great and a fun experiment. The hive was in a Langstroth box and over the course of a summer, I successfully convinced them to move into a top bar. I gathered a couple more swarms that summer from calls and was happy and I thought I was on the way to becoming a successful beekeeper.

Long story short, I lost all three hives. One just disappeared, one didn’t survive the winter despite my feeding them, and the last hope were victims of wax moths.

This year I got no calls for actual swarms, just for extractions of existing hives. So I built a bee vac box and had no luck on the first two calls I got. I came home with boxes full of bees and I gave them honey and brood comb, but none survived more than a month. I really don’t know what I’m doing; I just try my best and hope it works.

My latest extraction is from hell. The owner thought they were between the ceiling and roof and let me seal the room below and remove the sheetrock. I cut out a 16 inch by one-foot by eight-foot piece of ceiling rock from the wall to the blocking and the whole cavity was full of brand new capped and uncapped honey. Basically the super. A five-gallon bucketful. No brood comb to be found. I thought they might have gone up into an addition frame wall but drilled test holes revealed no bees. They went down into the concrete block wall below. I also suspected that they were into the adjacent wall but the property owner said there was no way. So we left it.