deeps, mediums and shallows

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by nofo77, Nov 23, 2010.

1. nofo77

nofo77 New Member

Hi there:
    I'm a beginner Spanish beekeeper interested in beekeeping techniques from any part of the world. I've read an American magazine article that's driving me crazy and I'd like to know if anyone can explain me what he says. The text says: "We have switched most of our equipment over to mediums, because this enables us to use the same size frame for both the brood box and the honey super". My question is: Is it possible to use the same size frame for a brood box that is 9-5/8" and a super that is 6-5/8" high? If I put super frames into a brood box what happens with the so called "bee space"? I think I'm getting into a mess with all these measures.

Please, anyone can help me?
    Thanks from Spain!

2. Hobie

Hobie New Member

It's a bit confusing at first. You have to discard your "old" ideas about hive bodies and honey supers. As you suspect, the frame size must match the size of the box, or you will end up with a mess of comb.

What the text means is that the beekeeper uses ONLY medium supers. No deep hive bodies. No shallow honey supers. The brood boxes and the honey boxes are all the same size: Medium. This allows you to interchange the equipment readily.

It is an interesting option to consider. If I didn't already have deep and shallow boxes, I would have considered all mediums.

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

If you put shallows or medium frames in deep boxes, OR shallow frames in medium boxes.......... the bees will build comb on the bottom of the frames.

The idea of using all mediums is so that you can swap frames more easily and even consolidate frames in the winter to make the hive more compact.

Plus you have less equipment to keep up with.

4. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

the advantages are two:
    1) standardization of frames and boxes <since these get cheaper the more you buy some $ economy is also possible.