double deep brood frame pattern

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Tyro, Dec 9, 2011.

1. Tyro

Tyro Member

I have been keeping bees now for several years. I have a habit of keeping pretty good records over the course of the season (it is the scientific training - I am a data slave). I have noticed a trend in the number of brood frames in my best hives.

My best hives (over the past several years) rarely have more than 4 frames of brood, even at their peak. They also never have less than 4 frames of brood. These will be booming double deep hives packed with bees covering every frame. I have recorded hives like this with having up to 6 brood frames (usually 4 in one box and 2 in another) - but that is the max.

Is this typical or normal? Should they be producing more brood? There isn't a queen pattern - it is the same whether the queens are Russian, Carniolan, MN Hyg or mutts from my own stock.

If it isn't normal - what could be holding them back?

Thanks in advance for replies.

Mike

2. Steve10

Steve10 New Member

Mike, How do you defining a brood frame? In other words are you talking frames with only capped brood or all stages, eggs to emerging adults? If there's one egg, it's a brood frame albeit hardly one to help make a nuc with.

During the spring and summer, my "all stage of brood frames" range from 3-4 frames in nucs to 6-8 in a 10-frame deep. Occasionally, I've had 10 in a double deep.

3. Tyro

Tyro Member

Steve, I am calling a brood frame as any frame that is predominantly covered by brood (of any stage) on both sides. My 10 frame double deeps rarely if ever have more brood frames than your nucs. Now the frames I get from my best hives look really good (solid brood over 70-90% of the frame), but I only ever get 4 of them.

So it seems that, on average, even my best hives are 2-4 brood frames less than typical?

4. Iddee

Iddee New Member

I'm thinking, and that may be a danger sign.