Drone frames

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Dakine, May 9, 2012.

1. Dakine

Dakine New Member

I see they sell drone frames? Why do you need them? Yeah I'm just getting started and lost again.
    Dakine guys

2. Omie

Omie New Member

Bees have a real need to make drones. Beekeepers don't like to have too many drones because they take up resources. Commercial foundation is sized so that the bees are forced to produce worker-sized cells, not larger drone cells. When bees are not allowed to choose and are given only worker sized foundation to build on, the bees will then try to build some drone cells elsewhere- wherever they can fit some in. This might be in the corners of frames, or hanging below the frames, or as burr comb.
    So one reason to have a drone frame is to satisfy the bees' strong need to raise some drones (especially in Spring/mating season)- if they can raise drones on a nice big drone frame they will build less drone burr comb- at least I have found this to be true.

But another very awesome use for a dedicated drone frame is in mite monitoring and control without using miticides and other mite killing substances. If you use foundation, and give the bees one drone frame in each brood box or in each hive, that drone frame will be jam packed with drone brood. Varroa mites love to breed in drone pupae cells more than any place else- the drone cells have more room for mites, and the drones take a little longer to mature than workers do, thus giving the mites more time to reproduce and mature inside the capped cell.