Dying Hive

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Jim Jenkins, Sep 24, 2009.

1. Jim Jenkins

Jim Jenkins New Member

I'm really new to Beekeeping. I started with three hives in the Spring of 2008. Two of the hives have been very active, the other hive has been not so active. I bought a new queen this summer. I found the old queen and killed her. At that time there was very little capped brood and only about half the foundation had been drawn out in the single brood chamber. I installed the new queen. In a few days I found that the queen had been released, but there were no eggs in the drawn comb. The new queen was marked but I was unable to find her. A week later I found no eggs and was unable to located the new queen. I can only think that she had been killed. I found no evidence of a laying worker.
    I have decided to allow the hive to die out and but a new 3# package and marked queen this coming Spring.
    Does anybody think I'm doing the right thing or the wrong thing? I would appreciate any advise anyone could give me. Thanks for being out there.

Jim

2. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

since I am TOTALLY uncertain as to your location (north, south, east or west???) the answer may be yes and the answer may be no.

sometime certainly the season and circumstance dictates that you let a hive pass on. you can dwiddle away alot of time on a hive that will return you absolutely nothing. such hives are first and foremost a real misallocation of time... I recall one commerical beekeeper commenting that he spent 90% of his time on 10% of his hives. come next spring you can always recycle the equipment with a new start. if your time is worth anything letting a hive die is often times the reasonable path to follow.