Feeding

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by james007, Aug 29, 2015.

1. james007

james007 New Member

I am in Tennessee and new. This is my first year and im not sure how much to feed. It seems like everytime I try to feed the bees swarm. I fed 2 gallons to one of my hives that swarmed earlier and found it full of swarm cells this week. I have two deep brood chambers with about 3 frames of sealed brood and probably 4 full frames of honey-nectar. The rest are mixed. This hive has already swarmed twice this year and now im afraid to feed and afraid not to. Thanks for all the good advice.

2. ibeelearning

ibeelearning Member

1. So, how do you come to the decision to feed right now? In absence of other information, in your location, I'm thinking you shouldn't need to feed at present.
    2. What methods are you using for swarm prevention/interruption?
    3. Is this the same hive you have been having trouble with all season?
    4. Are the others doing ok?

3. james007

james007 New Member

I guess im just guessing. Ive heard horror stories about others losing half their hives from running out of honey. Guess I really dont know what im doing.
    As for swarm prevention I split the one with the swarm cells and they seem to have gone back to work for now.
    Yep this is the same one. Im just too stubborn to just blow it up. My plan is to requeen this hive and another one next month. Hope that helps.
    Everybody else seems to be doing fine. Probably no honey to speak of this year but im hopeful for next year. Thanks and great to hear from you. Sounds like im just feeding too early.

4. ibeelearning

ibeelearning Member

You just started, you are not supposed to know what you're doing, else, you would make the rest of us look like a bunch of old fools. We've been at it for years and still don't know what we're doing.

IMHO: