First Nuc Try.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Tomgillane, Sep 5, 2018.

1. Tomgillane

Tomgillane New Member

Hello everyone. It has been some time since I have asked the forum questions. I am in my second year of beekeeping and not having too much luck. I lost my last years population during the winter to unknown causes. I got a 3# package this last April but had no luck. The package that I got dwindled down to a population of about 200 bees at present. The queen is still in the hive with the few bees staying.

I purchased a deep 5 frame Nuc from a local beekeeper. When I picked them up the seller made sure that I had at least 4 to 5 lbs of bees with the five frames of brood, nectar, honey, pollen, and a good looking queen. I have had the bees for about one week and I have noticed a big population die off. Bees being cleaned out of the hive, and at least 1,000 or so bees spread out all around the hive. I checked the fresh dead bees and found not mites and the hive beetles are very few. I opened up the top of the hive today and there were a lot of bees on top of the frames. Friday I am going to open and pull frames to find the queen and calculate the population.

Since I am new to Nucs, is this die off normal? Any comments or ideas would be appreciated.

2. roadkillbobb

roadkillbobb Active Member

3. mark nic

mark nic New Member

I started out with 2 nucs and immediately started to feed them and didn't stop until mid July and while I haven't been involved with beekeeping in 25 years or more I really think I made the right decision as I now have 2 VERY strong hives.
    I fed 1/1 to build up comb and in the dearth I fed 2/1 to add to the stores for winter.
    My plan for the first year was to get the darlings to be VERY strong so I can get at least 3 splits next spring, I have kept them pretty damn crowded and at the moment I am pretty sure they will swarm if I don't get to the splitting in the spring ASAP.