First season in Madison County, Illinois.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Bigwig, May 19, 2011.

1. Bigwig

Bigwig New Member

Hello! I'm very glad I found this forum; I've learned a lot just from looking through the threads, and the comments I've already received on my own posts have been terrific. Everyone's very helpful.

I live in Madison County in Illinois, east of St Louis, MO. This is my first year and I have two hives that were started from packages.

Overall they're doing well, but Small Hive Beetle has become a challenge, especially for one of the colonies. Hoping to make it. I'll keep fighting!

-Bigwig

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Welcome, and I hope you like it well enough to stay around. If the one hive is in the shade, moving it to full sun will help with the small hive beetles. Also, keeping the hive "nearly" full will help. If you have many empty frames, a follower board can help. Keeping all frames full of bees leaves SHB no place to hide.

3. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Welcome Bigwig:

That's a great forum name, and this is a great forum. Personable types here that are always willing to try and help, and in a friendly manner. Very little in the way of big egos (well, except maybe me :mrgreen: )

4. crackerbee

crackerbee New Member

Hello Bigwig and welcome,got a great bunch of helpful and friendly folks here,hope you stick around and join in the fun.

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

Bigwig now that a keeper and howdy from Texas.

6. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Welcome to the forum Bigwig :wave:

Lots of good folks here and very helpful, don't be shy around us.

7. riverrat

riverrat New Member