First Year Beekeeper Confused

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Trexdarlington, Oct 9, 2017.

1. Trexdarlington

Trexdarlington New Member

I'm new to this but want to be successful, a friend talked me into starting a hive and I feel lost, hive seems to be thriving but I'm unsure with winter coming on if they can survive, I'm only in South Carolina so winters are mild compared to others!

2. ccjersey

ccjersey Member

OK. First thing is are they queenright and is she laying well. Not queenright hives will need a proven mated queen ASAP or be combined with a queenright hive to build up numbers.

Next is Varroa mite numbers. Look online how to do alcohol wash or sugar shake. Your choice but you need some hard numbers on infestation rate. In reality, at some point this fall or winter you will want to treat to reduce mites to near zero, but waiting until the BEST time may result in weak "winter" bees that are hatching out this fall.

Next is honey stores. How many boxes do you have and how many frames full of honey do they have? A sort of standard recommendation is two 8 or 10 frame deeps for the brood chamber and stores for winter. I think in the south it may take more honey to winter because the bees uncluster several times during warm spells and go out foraging when there is little to nothing to be had for their efforts. Of course the low temps are not nearly so severe as north and west of me and you.

Gypsi and Trexdarlington like this.

3. Trexdarlington

Thanks for your reply, at the urging of a friend, I added a 3rd medium about 6 weeks ago with a queen separator between the 2nd and 3rd box, the upper box seems to be a waste other than all the bees crawling around up there, no builtout whatsoever is going on up there on any of the 8 frames, but I would say it has hundreds of bees if not a few thousand.