Frame Spacing

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Paul Cottier, Oct 10, 2017.

1. Paul Cottier

Paul Cottier New Member

When i inspected a hive last week i forgot to keep the correct spacing in between the frames and left them spaced far apart. When i went to the hive today to give them more feed i found they had drawn out the comb so thick that it nearly touched the other frame. So just a reminder to all the new beekeeps including myself that there is a "correct" spacing between frames. They make tools for this but if you dont have one the frames should be 3/8 of an inch apart (top bar to top bar). Any larger the bees will create burr comb and make inspections a pain or near impossible. Lesson learned.

2. SuiGeneris

SuiGeneris Member

Quick question from a total newb - if this happens, how do you address it? Do you have to scrape the frame to foundation and let the bees rebuild?

3. Paul Cottier

Paul Cottier New Member

It depends. At this time of year for my hives they have built up their stores of honey and pollen and all that burr comb has been filled. I wouldnt do that at this point because it sets their work back and will spill a lot of honey into the hive and may attract predators/beetles. I will wait til mid spring to remove the excess comb to where it should be and place the frames to the apprpriate bee space when they should be using it for brood and wont be threatening their winter stores. I personally wouldnt take it to the foundation because it will just create more work for them however, if the comb is older (1+ years) then yes i would remove it to the foundation to make way for new, clean comb.

4. ccjersey

ccjersey Member