General Bee questions

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by 2kooldad, Jun 23, 2011.

1. 2kooldad

2kooldad New Member

figured id post this here...other people might want to know the answers too.

Im self taught in lots of things...bees too...some things ya cant find in books though...ya have to do/see them for your self...my problem is i'll see it an not know...then kill myself trying to figure it out....so here goes.

My bees hang out on the front of the hive all the time in large numbers...less in the day but not always...i've heard they will do this just prior to swarming...will it be obvious when they do this ??

if the little gray bees that just hatched are the nurse bees...what others are in there an why do i care...queens an drones are no brainers...but i heard the are a few others comprised of the workers besides nurse bees.

What damage does opening an inspecting a hive do...if we are supposed to leave them bee (snicker) for weeks at a time...which i dont cuz i wanna know whats going on till i learn to read ''the front door''...id like to know exactly what harm im doing, or, is this just beek lore.

Why do they swarm around the hive a couple of times a day...i figure it must be newer bees trying out their wings and learning their hive location...maybe taking a cleansing flight...just not sure.

Feel free to add stuff yall :/

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

My bees hang out on the front of the hive all the time in large numbers...less in the day but not always...i've heard they will do this just prior to swarming...will it be obvious when they do this ??

It's called bearding. They send some outside to allow the inside temp to cool.

if the little gray bees that just hatched are the nurse bees...what others are in there an why do i care...queens an drones are no brainers...but i heard the are a few others comprised of the workers besides nurse bees.

House cleaners, air conditioners, honey processors, janitors, guards, ETC.