Greetings from Philippines

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Apo Mariano, Oct 5, 2013.

1. Apo Mariano

Apo Mariano New Member

Hi to all! I'm a 29 year old newbie beekeeper from the Philippines. I recently quit my engineering job and went back to the mountains to farm and become a beekeeper. I felt I was more of a farmer than an engineer.:smile: Anyway, my initial plan was to buy European honey bees but had some trouble finding local suppliers. When my father heard about my plans, he told me about a certain native bee that was living in our backyard for more than 3 years. I did my research and found out it was the same stingless bee family that is popular in Australia. I became excited and did further research about this tiny bees that are great pollinators. I don't want to destroy the hive so I began looking for a local supplier. Lucky enough I was able to find one and bought two hives. I'll be doing a "soft-split" soon on the hive in our backyard. This is the term by the Australian beekeepers of doing a split without harming the original hive. I fell in love with these native bees and made a promise to help them as long as I can!:thumbsup:

2. Walt B

Walt B New Member

Apo, Good for you, and welcome to the forum. :hi:

Walt

3. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

4. kebee

kebee Active Member

Welcome Apo, glad you found us here on the forum, will be interest to find out about your bees.

Ken

5. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Welcome to the international forum Apo. :hi:Thanks for making it more internationaal.