havent messed with bees in 35+ years & remember nothing at all except the stings

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by chaossmurf, Jan 7, 2017.

1. chaossmurf

chaossmurf New Member

im in Beverly hills florida and am looking for a nearby beekeeper thatd be willing to let me watch them with their hives and hopefully even learn from them ---im a fairly good carpenter and am looking to eventully build my own hives bases & boxes --then stick a flow-hive on the top ---because I was hoping to put the hive right onto the wall of my shed ---I guess if anyone wants to send me a private message il hit them with my contact info -cell & email etc

2. Gypsi

Gypsi Super Moderator Staff Member

well is Zookeeper still on here and still in Florida?

3. chaossmurf

chaossmurf New Member

dunno :) but im having no real luck finding a local beekeeper club around me either ---anyone know of any in florida by chance ?----and ive also wondered if ----I build it will they come :) ??? ------ive debated on just building a hive from onlive specs and see if any queen finds it ---then work from there the hard way :( that will suk but beats doing nothing at all I guess

4. camero7

camero7 Member

You won't have much luck capturing a swarm without some lure. Look online and get a bottle. It will help. This is supposed to be the best. http://www.swarmcommander.com/

5. chaossmurf

chaossmurf New Member

yeah I had thought of the grab a swarm --or remove the from someones house ideas ---but I was meaning more just put a box outside with racks in it & cross my fingers hehehe --but im sure if I ever find a local mentor id be able too buy some bees off him once I get around to building a hive & learning a tad about them -afterall I was like 12 last time I opened a hive up --35 years ago hehehehe

6. paint504

paint504 Member