Hello from Central Indiana!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by blueblood, Mar 16, 2012.

1. blueblood

blueblood New Member

Good Morning, thought it was about time I introduce myself. My name is Dave and I am 40. I am brand new at this venture and wanted to find a group of keepers to chat with as I learn. This was the first site that popped up so I clicked on it hoping this was the "bee's knees" of forums...

I have a local friend who is mentoring me with this new hobby. I have some woodworking skills so I decided to build my own hives. Built both Langstroth style with two deep and two medium honey supers each. I built two extra medium honey supers just in case I need them. It was a joy building them even though it took a few days total. I am sure I will be more proud knowing I built them.

My bees are on order and I am buying all the supplies including frames and foundations today. I figured on buying most of my supplies from Walter T. Kelley. Do any of you think there is a better or more affordable site for supplies?

I look forward to getting to know all of you better.

Dave

2. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member

Welcome and enjoy your stay! :) Lots of good info and great people here.

I haven't been in this very long, but I've found that one place might have a good price on one item, and another place has a good price on another item. You just have to shop and compare. Plus look at the price after the shipping is added.

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Welcome. Walter T. Kelley is a great supplier, along with numerous others. The final decision will likely be the freight bill.

4. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Welcome Dave:

You're having a run of good luck, with this forum being the first to pop up! :wink: