Hello from Davie, Florida (aka Bees In Miami)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Bees In Miami, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Bees In Miami

Bees In Miami New Member

I have seen some of you on 'another' forum...obviously some forum 'politics' I need not know about, but I enjoy both.

My name is Michelle, and I am a professional Chef by trade. I took up beekeping by accident, due to a ferale hive we had under a workshop in our yard. We had a beek come out for the first hive, which he removed, and much to my disappointment, took the bees with him. (I begged him to allow me to 'lease' a hive, or whatever, but he was an old timer, and just wanted the bees) So the first cut out was done, and the bees were gone. That was a couple years ago. And as most of you would already guess, the bees returned the following spring! I was thrilled!! I let them do their thing all season, as they had set up under a portion of shed that was not really impacting us. My husband knew, NOT to impact the bees, much to his shagrin! Well...then my lucky day, when I got an alarmed call from the husband in the side yard when he found a cluster of bees in the Mango tree. My first swarm!!! YEAH!! I called a local beek for some help, that sold me a hive body and frames, and my first hive was born. I knew there was more to come, so I ordered hives and frames and such, and got building. We had 3 swarms this year, and I did a cut out of the hive under the shed, which was queenless, and I did a newspaper combine, so 3 stong hives going at the moment. I absolutely love my girls, as do my neighbors, who all had bumper crops of all we have growing...Mangoes, Coconuts, bananas, avacados, papaya, lemons, etc, etc! We are in a pretty rural area, so the neighbors have been VERY receptive of the "girls" addition to the 'hood'. (The girls fit right in with the Rooster crowing, the goat bayying, and the horses Neighing...) Looking forward to growing the bee population, and thus far, other than battles with SHB and a W