Hello from Kansas

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Fuzzystuff, Jun 10, 2010.

1. Fuzzystuff

Fuzzystuff New Member

Hello I am a hobbyist in Wichita, KS with 3 KTBH and am in the process of doing a trap out on a tree to pick up a 4th or more. I always wanted to keep bees, but never knew where to begin. I just started reading and learning from others over the winter and took the plunge and ordered a box of bees. I then quickly found a local BK less then 3 miles from me to help hive 2 more KTBH's. So far everything has been fun and frustrating. I should have introduced myself sooner, so forgive me.

My 8 yr old daughter wants to know when she gets to suit up and help. She has no fear of the bees which is good. We will see; for now let’s just get everything moving in the right direction get a little honey for myself and make sure I can help my hives make it through this winter.

I have always been a big garden person and believe in stainable living. Nothing is better then your own stuff.

Jeff

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Welcome to the forum.

Little Man on this forum got his first hive when "I think" he was 9. Get her suited up and let her go out with you. Then build her a hive this winter and let her paint pictures on it.

Like this, maybe......

viewtopic.php?f=29&t=492

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Hello Fuzzystuff and welcome to the forum.

I had my first hives when I was 8, the hook was set for life. I could watch the bees for hours on end.
    There a suits made for the younger beeks, SgtMaj has a son that he suits up and he is 4 or 5.

Take Iddee's advice and let her make up her own hive this winter, it will also let her learn the hive parts and pieces plus a great Daddy/Daughter activity that she will always remember.

Good luck with your bees!!

G3

4. Fuzzystuff

Fuzzystuff New Member

Thanks G3,