Hello from Rhode Island!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Papakeith, May 3, 2012.

1. Papakeith

Papakeith New Member

Hi all,

I'm not entirely sure what I want to put down for an introduction. So, more likely than not I'll just ramble for a bit and see where it leads.

First a bit of history about me. I like to say I'm a farmer by birth and a geek by trade. My family has farmed the same land since the very early 1800s. In my lifetime it has been a dairy farm and a produce farm. Currently it's a produce farm with a touch of agri-tainment. The farm doesn't make enough to pay my bills, so I have a full time job working with computer systems. Not the ideal job, but I like the work and it keeps a roof over my head.

The bee story:

My uncle and brother kept bees back in the mid 70s. I "helped". I suppose you could call it helping. I watched and waited for some honey filled comb to be scraped free of the hive and handed to me. That was about the extent of my involvement in beekeeping. My brother's hives perished during one winter I suppose. I never was really sure what happened to my uncle's bees. But at some point in the mid-eighties they disappeared. That was it. I was a kid when they started and a teenager when they stopped. As a kid I didn't pay attention, and as a teen I was too busy to care. Both instances were probably a mistake on my part.

Fast forward to two weeks ago.

My father goes to numerous farmer's markets to sell his products. Since he sells free range eggs at these markets I decided that we needed to get into egg production. I got a number of birds and repopulated an old coop. I liked it, and bought more birds. The beekeeping is an extension of that thread. I figure that if we are going to sell eggs, honey, or any product for that matter, it may as well be produced by us.

Plus, as an added bonus I get to have a new hobby. Anyone who knows me knows that I am a sucker for a new hobby.