hello from Texas

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by divkabee, Jun 3, 2011.

1. divkabee

divkabee New Member

:wave:
    I’m in my 2nd year of beeking. My introduction to beekeeping began with a pressing need to get a colony of bees out of a wall of our house. The bees had been there for 3 years, and having been turned down by 2 beekeepers, I took on the task of doing a trapout myself. I got a 3-hour lesson from a friendly beekeeper (too far for him to do the trapout) on handling bees and learning what the hive was all about. Then I found Iddee on this forum and he coached me through an 8-week trapout, for which I will be eternally grateful. The trapout was both an exhilarating and terrifying experience (being envelopped in a cloud of VERY angry bees when the hive was taken down), but it gave me a sense of calmness to go forward, knowing I’d been through the worst of it. I now have 4 hives.

2. crackerbee

crackerbee New Member

Howdy and welcome to the forum divkabee,you had a great coach for sure :thumbsup: ,and you have some great folks out your way when you need help and advice for what's going on in your neck of the woods.Don't forget to stop in chat and say hi now and then when you visit. :D

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Hello Divkabee and welcome to the forum :wave:

4. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Hi Divkabee:
    I did my first cut-out based on Iddee's teachings in the swarm/trapout/cutout thread as well.
    You have found a great resource here (and the friendliest one as well).
    Welcome!

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

howdy neighbor (as a reference to anyone not from Texas someone can reside 4 hours away and still be your neighbor).

and as is tecumseh style a question..
    so why was their such a pressing need (I seem to hear this quite a lot) for the bees to be evicted from their prior home?

6. divkabee

divkabee New Member