Help please!!!!! Im not sure what to do!!

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by beelicious, May 14, 2015.

1. beelicious

beelicious New Member

Hello everyone,

Im brand new to beekeeping and in desperate need of some help. i would GREATLY appreciate any comments

Alright. So i bought two nucs from a bee supplier in grand junction, colorado who seems like a nice guy with a good operation going on. I picked these bees up last saturday, may 9th, and took them home. I got home at 4pm and it was cold and somewhat rainy and starting to snow so i put the nucs in my garage (with the plugs in obviously) because i had no idea how much stores they had and the beekeeper i purchased them from told me that keeping them in my garage wouldn't hurt. From Saturday-monday the weather was way too cold for the bees to fly so i kept them in the garage that was about 30 degrees or so. on tuesday i put them out and pulled the plug.

I watched them tuesday and wednesday and they were bringing lots of pollen in and seemed to be doing great.

Today, thursday, the weather was warm enough and i transferred them over into their new hives.BUT......not one of the frames, from either hive had any honey, brood or pollen. nothing....just empty cells with some old capped drone cells that looked like they were pretty old because they were almost disintegrating, and not like a plump cap you see in pictures. and I'm talking just 5% of 5/10 frames. There was no queen cells either. however, there were many many bees. now, on one hive, the italian bees, i did see the queen. but on the other hive i didn't see her however there was a ton of bees so theres a good chance she was there.

Anyone have any ideas what in the world is going on and what i can do or should do??!

Thanks so much,
    ​Sky from colorado

2. Barbarian

Barbarian New Member

I can imagine quite a few of the experienced beeks on this forum going ..... "Bummer"