Help Purchased NUC seems to be spliting 4 days after installation

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by windyridgefarm, May 5, 2012.

1. windyridgefarm

windyridgefarm New Member

I am new to beekeeping and could use some help. I installed a NUC I purchased from Gardner's Apiaries Monday evening and the hive seems to be splitting as of Fri. The weather has been rainy and cold so they did not have a chance to go out foraging til Fri. More than half of the bees came out of the hive on Thurs late afternoon to evening and the hive seemed to be looking to abscond so I put them all back into the hive and blocked the entrance.
    The weather improved on Friday so I let them out and now half of them seem to want to stay in the hive and are foraging. The other half have swarmed a short distance away and remained there overnight. It is cloudy and cold so I covered them with a clear plastic box and dont know what to do now! HELP... All this started after I checked on the hive to make sure the queen was ok. She was out of her cage so I removed it and left it nearby

2. afterburn001

afterburn001 New Member

Was the nuc originally placed where the ball of bees are and then got moved for some reason? Check for the queen in the nuc, if she is not there, she is with the swarm. If that is the case, catch the swarm, try to recombine, stuff entrance with grass/straw and let them reorientated.

3. windyridgefarm

Thanks for the reply.
    No the NUC was never there- it is just a random patch of grass about 12 feet from the hive and the other half of the hive is out foraging. What should I do if she is still in the nuc and not with the swarm? I am trying hard to understand this behavior. Thanks Randy

4. Iddee

Iddee New Member