Hi everybody

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by pistolpete, Jul 16, 2012.

1. pistolpete

pistolpete New Member

I am a novice bee keeper. I started with a 4 frame Nuc at the end of may. The nuc I got was stuffed with bees and they have not slowed down since. I am working with deep langstroth boxes. At the moment the bees have filled their two brood boxes, are capping the first deep super and drawing out the second. My only worry seems to be that I have too many bees. I have about one or two thousand of them that hang out on and above the landing board and the hive is bursting at the seams. Yet they have not built any swarm cells or anything like that.

I am still amazed at how gentle they are. I have never work any protective equipment with them and have no stings to show for it. I peek at my bees every day, like a kid at christmas and all I read is bee books. What a great hobby. cappedbrood.jpg

2. blueblood

blueblood New Member

Welcome Pete! You can never have too many bees. If I understand your post correctly, you are using deeps for both brood boxes and honey supers? If that is the case, I think your okay...further, If I had bees filling up deep honey supers like that, I would add a third. You are going to grow some extra muscles carrying those around. I am fairly new to being a keep myself so I will leave the suggestions for possible splitting in this scenario to the wonderful experts here.

I thought mine were gentle too until I got my first couple of stings. I wear my gear all the time...just a personal choice for me...I just don't like the three day ordeal of itching and God forbid, a swollen face, ha! Yes, this is a great hobby and I look forward to working with them for years to come. Enjoy and glad you found all of us here...very helpful and friendly folks.

Dave

3. pistolpete

pistolpete New Member