Hi fellow honey lovers

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bigluelok, Dec 7, 2012.

1. bigluelok

bigluelok New Member

Hi every name is luis,
    I am very new to this i have been reading blogs and forum posts regarding bee keeping and would really like to start really soon.
    I am looking to start a couple hives. I am looking to make a couple of these and will most likely by a bees locally from a local keeper if I can find one. my only concern is that i have a very nosy dog and dont want him getting stung.

any one have nosy dogs and bees around here? what do you do to keep the dog away from the bees?

any San Gabriel Valley bee keepers on this forum.

2. kebee

kebee Active Member

I have a young rock terrie and she was real nosie with the bees until she got stung and now she stays away from them and I believe your dog will too. Oh and welcome to the froum you can learn a lot here, know I did.

kebee

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Dogs are smart and bees are great teachers. It only takes one lesson and the dog graduates. :D

4. bigluelok

bigluelok New Member

well then looks to me like i am going to move forward with this project then :grin: i am so excited i can not wait.

5. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

Welcome Luis! We have had dogs nearly as long as we have bees. Just do not chain the dog where it cannot get away in an incident.

6. blueblood

blueblood New Member

7. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Welcome to the forum :hi:

Lots of good friendly folks here, ask all kinds of questions.

If you are going to build a top bar hive from a barrel, you will need to buy package bees and a queen, or catch a swarm. If you buy an established colony or nuc the frames will not be a direct fit (If they are Lang type hives).

Dogs learn quick where NOT to stick their noses.

8. ApisBees

ApisBees Active Member