hi from Sumter county, Florida

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by 2kooldad, Jun 13, 2011.

1. 2kooldad

2kooldad New Member

My name is Deran...im from Sumter county Florida. I have five hives...two carnolian and three feral. I'd hope to find there is a beekeeper close to me...im self taught and doing alright but have questions...i did just buy an A.I. root company 15B cowan rapid extractor...guy had it for years up in the attic in his barn...never even had bees...it looks pretty old although i havent looked it up...has some light rust but doesn't look like its ever been wet...looks like somebody tried to paint the gears and cage on the inside...i dont know what i should do to it...restore it or keep it and use it or sell it...wont tell ya what i paid but it wasnt much :thumbsup: anyways...hi yall and whos here in florida ????

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Hi 2kooldad:

Welcome to our fourm, friendly as all get out, with some pretty knowledgeable folks as well. If you have questions, you've found the right place.
    Crackerbee is in Florida but I don't know how close he is to you. There are some others as well.
    If the extractor is really old it is probably galvanized, the tip being that "somebody tried to paint the gears and cage on the inside."
    Since the move away from galvanized extractors, a lot of folks have used a product called Camcote, a food grade paint that is safe to use to coat the inside of the old extractors. If you got this extractor cheap, a small investment for a little Camcote and you may have gotten a real sweet deal! :thumbsup:

3. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

howdy Deran and welcome... there at least at one time was so many bee keepers (of the migratory kind) in Florida that I would guess there should be one fairly close.

a long time ago I hailed from Florida... graduated from high school and college there (Go Gators)... just to refresh this old hard drive Sumter County is in northwest Florida????

4. G3farms