Hive location . . .

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by J.E.Johnson, Dec 25, 2011.

1. J.E.Johnson

J.E.Johnson New Member

Hello again! I have another question (I'm sure I'll be posting plenty in the next few months) . . . Does the location of your hive matter? Should I put it in partial shade; full sun? In a higher spot or a lower spot in my yard? Facing in a certain direction? Anyways, you guys get the idea, I think: newbie here who needs some guidance ;). Oh, and I'm not sure if this matters, but my particular hive is a top bar hive. Thanks again!
    -Jenna

2. Bsweet

Bsweet Member

Welcome to the forum, The placement of your hive can be an important part of its managment. Full sun helps fight insect pest and helps the hive get an early start in the mornings as it will warm up sooner. A hive in the shade implies a tree nearby in most cases and it may be damaged by falling fruit and limbs. As far as a high or low spot in your yard, both will work as long as the hive is not exposed to high or constant winds or the low spot is not subject to flooding. In some geo locations wind is a fact of life, so provide a wind break of some kind and face the hive entrance so that the winds don't blow in the front door. Most say to face the entrance to the east to catch the morning sun but that may not mke that big a deal. Hope this helps. I'm sure someone will be along with better and more complete information. Good Luck, have fun and be safe Jim

3. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

J.E:

A fellow member here, Adam Foster Collins is an experienced TBH keeper up here in Nova Scotia. He can probably provide some good advice, maybe shoot him a pm. He has built some with windows in them so he can watch the bees year round.

4. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

Jenna:
    Welcome to the friendliest bee forum around. You have come to the right place to have all your questions answered.
    We have another new member, Big Bear, he's very experienced with TBH's also.