Honey/Brood Distribution in Weak Hive?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Atomic_Bee_Ranch, Jul 15, 2012.

1. Atomic_Bee_Ranch

Atomic_Bee_Ranch New Member

Hi, Everyone,
    I'm relatively new to beekeeping (second year, second hive) and I'm having some issues with my newest hive. I have a couple questions about what to do, but I need to give some background first. Bear with me if you can, I would really appreciate any advice I can get.
    I had a hive last year that died very early in the winter. Judging by the quantities of honey leftover and lack of brood the queen probably died in November. I took all the frames out and froze them for several weeks and had the happy accident of coming across a swarm in early April. I captured the swarm and put it in my old hive with all the full frames. I had to replace a couple of the frames with new foundation, but they got (once their numbers grew) a good 12-15 deep frames of honey and 5-8 frames for raising brood. As I said, they were exactly as they were left by my previous hive. I started them with one deep super, added a second when their numbers increased, and finally added the queen excluder and honey super. They were going like gangbusters until mid-June. I believe they threw a swarm and I missed it completely. Now their numbers are REALLY low. We're talking bees covering 3, maybe 4 frames. There is a new queen and she just started laying eggs, but there is NO capped brood.
    What has given me pause is the distribution of brood and honey. There are no bees in the bottom deep and no brood to speak of. The new queen is now laying eggs, but in the frames that are right up against the side of the box. So, if you were looking down on the super, the bees and eggs are on the left three frames and as you move to the right there is honey and then two frames with foundation, but no drawn-out comb.
    My questions are:
    1. Is this a normal distribution?