Honey super

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by ColinUK, Jul 21, 2018.

1. ColinUK

ColinUK Member

Hi im new to beekeeping so would like some advice please. I have two colonies. Both arrived in April. One is doing amazing and has filled a deep 10 frame brood. Therefore I have installed a shallow 10 frame honey super two weeks ago. I soaked it with syrup to encourage the bees. The frames are wax foundation. I was hoping that they would be starting to build. Instead they have wrecked two frames and ignored the others. Any advice to encourage use would be appreciated. I don't use a honey excluder. We are in a heatwave and dry spell in the UK but still masses of foraging. Thanks

2. Gypsi

Gypsi Super Moderator Staff Member

remove a lower frame with comb on it, preferably one of the outside frames. Since your deep frame is going to drop below the shallow, scoot the deep frames to one side or another, preferably NOT in the center of the brood nest, to allow a deep frame to drop from the shallow into the bottom box. put your deep frame in the top box and over the opening in frames below. Set empty shallow frame aside. They should begin to draw the top, be sure they have adequate nectar or feed syrup.

3. ColinUK

ColinUK Member

What an amazing reply. Will do tomorrow. Let you know how I get on. Many thanks

4. ColinUK

ColinUK Member

Hi a week on and the bees are now using the super. Just one question. They are building burr comb on the bottom of the moved frame and forming a bee ladder. Normally I would remove this but they have filled it with pollen. They are quite pollen rich at present. Could you recommend what I should do with the burr comb. The hive has lots of eggs and grubs at all stages as well as 10 frames of honey. Thanks

5. roadkillbobb

roadkillbobb Active Member