How do you keep your smoker going?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by srvfantexasflood, Jun 13, 2009.

1. srvfantexasflood

srvfantexasflood New Member

This is going to sound very elementary, but I'm a beginner. Also, I was in 4H, not the boy scouts. There seems to be a secret to getting the smoker going and keeping it going. It never fails, I will be in the hive and the darned thing will quit on me. I end up with some bees that are VERY unhappy with me. It's impossible to relight with gloves on. I have seen beekeepers use everything from dried sumac buds to old blue jeans. Others seem to layer twigs and leaves with great success. Any suggestions from the more experienced beekeepers?

2. Hobie

Hobie New Member

Best advice i was given was: Slow, steady puffing of the bellows. Following this advice helped me a lot

3. Charles

Charles New Member

4. srvfantexasflood

srvfantexasflood New Member

Thanks for all the tips! I had a lot better luck tonight. I even had to wait for it to go out when I was done.

5. indypartridge

indypartridge New Member

As with most things, it takes some practice.

I use everything from rolled cardboard to baling twine to shredded blue jeans to cedar hamster bedding and I've found that as far as keeping a smoker lit, the fuel doesn't matter as much as the technique. When I light my smoker I usually use a few pages from a phone book and a handful of broken-up twigs. I get it going good - basically a campfire in a can - and then add whatever fuel. Lightly at first, keep puffing, then pack it down with a hive tool. Once it's lit, train yourself to reach over and puff it occasionally. In a gentle hive, it's easy to set it down and forget it for 10 minutes or so while you do a frame-by-frame inspection. Then - when you need smoke for the next hive that's a bit testy - it's too late.

In short, two things: 1) a good start, not just smoldering, but really burning, and 2) give it a few puffs every every so often.

6. dogsoldier13