How old is your oldest hive of bees?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Buzzen, Sep 12, 2010.

1. Buzzen

Buzzen Member

Posted this on another forum but not many answers.....Just wondering how old your bees are. how many winters have they survived? What would you say the average lifespan of a hive is these days? I know there is more bees that don't survive the winter now than,say 30 years ago. I'm a newb so i have no experience with this and am just curious what you have seen. Who has the oldest bees!

2. Bsweet

Bsweet Member

My oldest is two years old, its the one I started with. I also have one that had reportedly to have been in the wall for two years before I removed as a cut out this past April. Jim

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

My oldest is from a swarm I was given in 2001. It is the one My friend Wayne gave me, therefore I call them Wayne's bees. He kept bees from the 60's and never treated for anything. When the mites came, he lost all but one hive. It survived and he caught swarms from it. This is one of the swarms. None of the hives that came from it has had a problem with mites. Larry Tate, a queen breeder and member of this forum is now raising Wayne's bees queens. They will be sold with the suggestion that they not be treated for mites. Hopefully, they will continue to survive naturally.

4. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member