Howdy

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Thatbeeguy, Jul 29, 2012.

1. Thatbeeguy

Thatbeeguy New Member

Hi
    Just stumbled across this forum & am looking to looking at it in more depth
    I am the Beekeeping instructor for the Moonshine Beekeepers ( Really that's the name ) in Franklin Co. Va. & am always looking for more sources of info both for myself & my students. Please look for us & " like " us on Facebook
    I currently have about 35 hives mostly to support Queen rearing I have been raising & selling them for about 4 years
    I started making Queens to replace the package queens of my students that were not accepted or died or the 100s of other reasons they fail looking forward to the day that packages will be a thing of the past
    I feel that a Queen is better if she is locally adapted & is always accepted if she has gone thru at least 1 brood cycle ... Yup that makes them expensive, get over it, it is a proven queen not a queen to be, before you ask no I don't ship ( that regional thing ) plus I won't pull a Queen till you show up at my yard
    I am a little funny that way but my bees are important to me & I don't make a living at it so I don't have to sell them in any kind of quanity just good Quality
    Enough ranting.. gotta go check my bees
    Jeff

2. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Welcome Jeff.:hi:

So you are one of those beekeepers into bees for the sake of bees and other beekeepers and not just for money. You'll find a LOT of friends here in your category. We even have "moonshine beekeepers" here (right now, I have a gallon of mead bubbling away in my back porch) so we expect to feel at home with you and hope you feel the same way with us. :grin:

3. blueblood

blueblood New Member

4. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Hello beeguy and welcome to the forum :hi:

5. tmrschessie

tmrschessie New Member

Howdy, and welcome. Tom

6. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

7. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member