I am new at this. Looking for advice.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Ingimundur, Jun 29, 2012.

1. Ingimundur

Ingimundur New Member

Hi everybody. I am a livestock farmer in the western Catskills here in New York State, at about 2000 feet. For years we have had a wild beehive in a old Mable tree about 40 feet from our front door. Nobody has ever been bothered and this is a big hive, the traffic in and out like into Manhattan about 20 feet up in the tree. About two weeks ago we found a swarm by the tree and a friend lent us a super. I put them into it. Later I put another super on top of it and every thing seems to be honky dory.

Now for the questions:

Am I right in thinking that these bees are adapted to our area and we should try stick to them, also I don´t want any killer bees on my farm, would not want to see after may heard of cattle stampeding down the road. These bees seem to be calm and nice, warn me gently if I stand to long by their hive by buzzing by my ear. Also when I put the new super on top of the old one, nobody got excited. Maybe this is all normal, but I do think about these killer-bees ones in a while, are they still only down in Mexico?

Am I right in thinking, like I do with my live stock, that every hive is different, that if these bees are healthy I should try to build up my stock from them or should I get other stock, are wild bees just wild bees and useless?

Sorry seems like I put this thread in the wrong place, a special place for us beginners.

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Welcome to the forum, glad to have you aboard. :hi:

I think you are so far north that you wouldn't have AHB issues (Africanized Honey Bees, the correct name for "killer bees" which is a sensationalized name)