Im new can you help me!?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by mudlandmin, Dec 1, 2010.

1. mudlandmin

mudlandmin New Member

hi everyone
    my name is mindy i live in central new york and i am a beginner beekeeper. I hope you all can give me some advice so i dont mess up. :beg: i was given an old fashioned extractor, and some other equipment, but i need to buy a hive, bees, veil, and the basics. I found a beginners kit from Rossman Apiaries that comes with 4 supers and i think i will buy that. but if anyone knows a good company or has any good advice i would be grateful to hear from you
    Thanks! :wave:

2. riverrat

riverrat New Member

Mindy welcome to the forum hope to see you here often. Beekeeping is an exciting hobby or profession depending on your goals. I would suggest doing some research on what you need before you buy a kit. a lot of things come in a kit you may or may not use. I started with a hive body, frames, Foundation, medium supers for honey production, top cover inner cover, screened bottom board, hive tool, veil and 3 nucs. from there I learned what I needed as I became more familiar with bees and keeping them. The best advise i can give is read read read especial the forum to see what others are doing and see if it fits into your plans of how you plan on managing your hives. Good luck and again welcome to the forum

3. Omie

Omie New Member

Hi Mindy, welcome!

you have all winter to read up on things you might need for your first hive next Spring, but one thing you shouldn't put off is ordering your actual bees- they need to be ordered and paid for sometime between Dec and February depending on the supplier. By the end of Feb most places are sold out for their Spring orders. Then the bees get shipped to you in April-may.
    I live in NY too, and I get much of my equipment from Betterbee. Their "economy" model smoker is actually really nice, and has leather bellows, by the way.